Be A Child Again: My Parenting Mantra 

Welcome aboard this blog train – My Parenting Mantra. We have some awesome bloggers who are going to drive it for over a month. We promise to bring you some enriching contents that will add to your own parenting experience.
Thanks to Shalu who blogs at Dreamer mum for introducing me. You can read her entry for The Blog Train Here

To Meet all the moms who are with us aboard, Click Here

Well! I won’t say I always knew this parenting Mantra of being a child with the child, but that’s how I am.. behaving kiddish is a part of my personality. Once my MnM ( Meher n Myrah -2.5 year twinies ) were born, it gave all the more reasons and excuses to behave kiddo. 

Within no time I realised, it made my life so much easier and fun. Every month they were growing more to demand some new entertainment and to become more difficult to handle everyday. 
All you need to keep your sanity is stay a little insane, behave a little abnormal and be a child once again with your little one. 

  • Add a tint of excitement while introducing a new food, even if it’s GHEEYA, TORI or some not so delicious preparation, present it to the child with utter excitement and ‘WOW’ factor… the kid will already be in love (unless of course if it’s cooked really bad). 

  • Let them be involved In everything we do, some mess and some fun makes it easier for child to learn and remember.. for smaller kids, it even helps in development of gross and fine motor skills. Toddlers take themselves as the grown ups. For them, they are those big guys who can handle everything on their own. In fact, they can fix your stuff too (given the chance ).

  • We dance for 15 minutes daily, where no one else is looking at us, play our favourite beats and we throw ourselves as and how kids want.. we mess with our paint brushes, create cards and make people happy.
  • There is a lot of patience involved of course. But once we accept the way their minds are wired in, It’s easier to understand why they behave so, and it’s so much like living our own childhood again with better senses. My own stress levels have reduced manifolds since we became same age. 

 
Well I won’t say we chill all day or I am a baby and wear diapers with them but allowing them some fun and staying involved in it is making our bond much stronger as they feel mommy is their friend and then as we read post from Shalu, gentle parenting adds more to it.

Enjoyed reading My Parenting Mantra? Don’t forget to read what our next blogger moms  Nayantara And Sabeeka who apart from being a blogger also happens to be my amazing friends. Click their names to checkout there blog posts about their mantras 

Happy reading 

38 thoughts on “Be A Child Again: My Parenting Mantra 

  1. This is sooo cool!!! I admit this is one of the best ways to connect with them..
    I was a freak when it came to keeping my home clean and nothing out of place at all… But after the kids it all went for a toss.. We do have messy paint days and spontaneous dances… But honestly I know I should increase the days I allow them to have messy fun days 🙂

    Like

  2. When we grow up , we tend to forget that being care free like a child helps us enjoy life more. It’s great that you are trying to relive a carefree child like life while raising your daughters

    Like

  3. Kids definitely give us another chance to relive our childhood days. Not loosing patience and sanity is tough but it’s fun and a proud feeling to see them grow.

    Like

  4. Absolutely agree. Kids need a happy and fun environment to grow well. We dance too everyday and it’s the most fun part of the day.

    Like

  5. Such adorable picture and wonderful tips. I am a mom of a toddler too and I love this post of yours. Loved your mantra.

    Like

  6. I must say I am mighty impressed with the way you are raising your kids Kanika. It’s the right way in fact. Letting them cool off and have fun is the best way. They grow so quickly and we should let them time.

    Like

  7. Such a beautiful mantra, yes we all love their happiness and being messy too at time but when it comes to clean-up drive afterwards it’s maddening so I have seen parents avoiding kids to play their age.

    But I have seen, paying their age or let them independent bring up sense of responsibility in them as well as creativity. loved the post and beautiful pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is a cute post Misha! I always follow Zuzu’s leads in whatsoever she wishes to do! there are times when my parents have said not to give her pastel colours for the fear of the color landing on the wall,I have gone one step further and given her water colours 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

